The History of Our Lady of Lourdes High School
1958: The Miracle of Lourdes Unfolds
Our Lady of Lourdes High School was founded in April 1958 by His Eminence,
Francis Cardinal Spellman, who purchased the former Poughkeepsie High School
building and grounds from the Poughkeepsie Board of Education. The school was
given its name in honor of the centenary of the apparition of the Virgin Mary at
Lourdes in France.
The new school opened its doors in September of 1958 with a faculty of four
brothers and four sisters, and an athletic coach. The original school was divided
into two halves, one for the boys and one for the girls. Opening enrollment was
280 students. The boy’s school opened with four classes of 35 students each, as
did the girl’s school. Our Lady of Lourdes existed this way as seperate schools
Our Lady of Lourdes is a co-educational high school which
seeks to offer a rigorous college preparatory education rooted in the
teachings of Jesus Christ to a large and diverse community. Animated by
the charisms of the Sisters of St. Dominic and the Marist Brothers, Our
Lady of Lourdes strives to enable all students to achieve their fullest
potential: spiritually, intellectually, physically, and emotionally. We
are Catholic. The Gospel is the foundation and purpose of all that we do.
Therefore, we seek to form young men and women in the image of Jesus
Learn about the rich history of our school.